Skip to Main Content

Sion Learning Resource Centre: Creating a Bibliography

Homepage

Referencing and Bibliographies

What is a Bibliography?

We need a bibliography to

  1. acknowledge our sources;
  2. give the reader or teacher an opportunity to consult your sources.

Using someone else's work without acknowledgement is called plagiarism. 

Internet and Databases

WORLD WIDE WEB - URLs

  1. Author’s surname, initials (comma)
  2. Year (no brackets) (comma)
  3. Title (italics) (comma)
  4. Publisher, (comma)
  5. Place of publication. (full stop)
  6. Accessed at: (date last looked at site) (comma)

  7. Web address (enclosed with <>)

NOTE - If there is no author, start at step 2. If there is no publisher or place of publication skip steps 4 & 5 and finish with step 7.

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Holland, M 2013, Harvard System,1 November 2012,

http://bournemouth.ac.uk/library/

using/harvard_system.html

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • The University of Melbourne Library (2010) describes ...

... was described (University of Melbourne Library 2010).

DATABASES

  1. Title of the Database, (comma)

  2. The producer, (comma)

  3. The vendor, (comma)

  4. Frequency of updating. (full stop)

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • AGRIS database, United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation, SilverPlatter (vendor), annual updating.

EMAILS

Personal information includes but is not limited to email, fax, interview, conversations, lectures, speeches, telephone conversations and letters.

It is not included in a Bibliography, but rather as an in-text citation.

Remember to ask permission of the person being referred to before mentioning them.

1.     Sender’s surname, initials

2.     (Sender’s email address) (brackets)

3.     Day, month, year of email, (comma)

4.     Subject of message, (comma)

5.     Email to recpient’s surname, initials and recipient’s email address

(email address in brackets) (full stop).

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Jones, D (davidjones@hotmail.com) 2nd September 2012,
The Olympic games, Email to Smith, Pete (petesmith@hotmail.com).
  • In the email dated 10 June 2012, Mr. Allan declared, “I am innocent.”

FACEBOOK / TWITTER

Cite an author as it appears in the Facebook post, not as ‘Author A’.

  1. Author
  2. Year of the post, (comma)
  3. Title of the post, (comma)
  4. Day Month of the post (comma)
  5. Viewed Day Month Year, (comma)
  6. <URL>. full stop.

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Hughes 2013

WIKIS

  1. Title of Wiki (Italics)
  2. Year (of article) (comma)
  3. Article title (in single quotation marks) (comma)
  4. Format (comma)
  5. Day month (of article) (comma)
  6. Date viewed (comma)
  7. <URL> (in <> brackets> (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • LRC Wiki 2013, ‘The Russian Revolution’, wiki article, 22 February, viewed 23 February 2013,

            <http://learningresourcecentre.pbworks.com

             /w/page/15879650/FrontPage

 

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE

 

  • (Rivererin 2013)

Podcasts and YouTube clips - how do I reference these?

Podcast and YouTube

  1. Author/Person or Company responsible (space)
  2. Title (italics)
  3. Year, (comma)
  4. Type of recording, (comma)
  5. Day and month viewed/date retrieved, (comma)
  6. URL

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

gsmokeyjoe 2007, Stephen Fry on the joys of life, online video, viewed 17 January 2015,

http: www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_osQbkeNRM&feature=youtube

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

Stephen Fry made a declaration in his YouTube clip about … (gsmokeyjoe 2007, sec. 00:36).

Using myBib to create a Bibliography

Creating Bibliographies

Referencing Books

BOOKS

1. Author’s surname, initials Year, Title of Book, Publisher, Place of Publication.

2.  Year, (comma)

3.  Title of book, (italics) (comma)

4.  Publisher, (comma)

5.  Place of Publication. (full stop) 


BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • No author:     The Good Housekeeping illustrated book of child care: from newborn to preteen,1995, Hearst Books, New York.
  • One author:   Smith, P 2013, How to write a good assignment, Penguin Books, Ringwood.
  • Two authors:  Handel, P R & Roberts, J T 2008, How I know, Penguin, London.
  • More than two authors:  Jackson, A L, et al. 2006, The assignment, Wayland, London.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • No author example:   As discussed in The Good Housekeeping illustrated book of child care (1995) ...
  • Author example:    Rollins (2012) has argued that ...

BOOK WITH AN EDITOR

  1. Editor’s surname, initials

2.     (ed.) (in brackets)

3.     Year, (comma)

4.     Title of book, (italics) (comma)

5.     Publisher, (comma)

6.     Place of Publication. (full stop)

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Mawson, S (ed.) 2013, Easy assignment writing, Doubleday Book, Sydney.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • ... this theory was questioned (eds Royce & Hadyn 2010).

CHAPTER IN AN EDITED BOOK

  1. Chapter author’s surname, initials
  2. Year, (comma)
  3. ‘Title of chapter’, (comma) (in single quotation marks)
  4. Followed by “in” then book details
  5. Editor’s surname, initials. (full stop)
  6. (ed.) (in brackets)
  7. Title of book, (italics) (comma)
  8. Publisher, (comma)
  9. Place of publication. (full stop)

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Woods, K 2013, ‘Dog grooming for beginners’, in Jolley, R (ed.), Pets are people, Harper Collins, Melbourne.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Daniels (1993) argued that...

ENCYCLOPEDIA

Encyclopedia article:

  1. Article author
  2. Year, (comma)
  3. ‘Title of article’ (in single quotes) (comma)
  4. Title of encyclopedia (italics) (comma)
  5. Publisher, (comma)
  6. Place of publication (comma)
  7. The volume number of encyclopedia (comma)
  8. Page number/s (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Jensen, A 2012, ‘Antarctica’, World Book Encyclopedia, Oxford University Press, Sydney, vol. 1, pp. 89-94.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Jensen (2012) pointed out that it is not always …

Group or Organisation as author

  1. Name of group or organization
  2. Year, (comma)
  3. Details of work as required

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission 1997, Bringing them home: report of the National Inquiry into the Separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children from their Families, HREOC, Sydney.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • The issue for the poverty-stricken country was no support from the government (CSIRO 2013, p. 43)

Referencing Images

Images from the Internet

  1. Author, but if none, use the name of Gallery, Museum if known
  2. Year of work if known (comma)
  3. Title of image, (italics) (comma)
  4. The medium of image (comma)
  5. Date image viewed (comma)
  6. URL of image (enclosed with <>) (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • The Eiffel Tower (2019). Eiffel Tower Website. [image] Available at:

https://www.google.com/search?q=eiffel+tower&safe=strict&rlz=1C5GCEA_enAU

853AU854&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjyk8PA0sLkAhWM63MBHdS

QBiYQ_AUIEigB&biw=1440&bih=686# [Accesed 9 September 2019].

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (The Eiffel Tower, 2019)

Image from the Internet with no Author or Date:

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (Colli 2009)

Image from the Internet with an Author and Date:

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (Trevor, 2013)

Artworks viewed in person

  1. Artist name – Surname, First name
  2. Year of artwork (comma)
  3. Title of artwork (italics) (comma)
  4. The medium of artwork (comma)
  5. Size of artwork if known (comma)
  6. Name of collection artwork is exhibited in if known (comma)
  7. Name of gallery, museum if known (comma)
  8. Country location if known (comma) (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Waterhouse, John William 1900, The Lady Clare, oil on canvas, Tate Gallery, Britain.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • … John William Waterhouse’s use of exquisite brushstrokes in The Lady Clare (1900) is magnificent …
  • … in his work mentioned previously (Waterhouse, 1900)

Exhibition Catalogue images

In-text citation and bibliography listing – refer to Book or Edited Book examples.

Images within Books

  1. Author(comma)
  2. Year (comma)
  3. Title (comma)
  4. Publisher (comma)
  5. Place of Publication (full stop)

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Lievbovitz, A 2002, Dancers: photographs by Annie Liebovitz, Smithsonian Institution Press, Washington.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Annie Liebovitz's photographic work Robert La Fosse, New York City 1990 (Liebovitz 2002, fig. 6) captures the essence of the dancer's pain...

Newspapers and Magazine Articles

Brochure / Pamphlet

The organisation is used as the author

  1. Author
  2. Year
  3. Title of brochure/pamphlet, (Italics) (comma)
  4. Publisher, (comma)
  5. Place of Publication. (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHIC EXAMPLE:

  • Diabetes Foundation 2007, How do I found it if I have diabetes?, Diabetes Foundation Australia, Melbourne, Victoria.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (Diabetes Foundation 2007)

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

  1. Author’s surname, initials
  2. Year, (comma)
  3. ‘Title of the article’, (in single quotation marks) (comma)
  4. Title of the newspaper, (italics) (comma)
  5. Date of publication, (comma)
  6. The page number of article. (full stop)

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE WITH AUTHOR:

  • Barry, B 2013, ‘Irrigated pastures’, The Age, 28 February, p 9.

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE WITH NO AUTHOR:

  • Not required – in text citation provides all necessary information.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE WITH AUTHOR:

  • Barry (2013) reported that sentences ...

IN-TEXT CITATION WITH NO AUTHOR:

  • ... in the New York Times (12 March 2002, p. 14).
  • ... the significance of these finds has been questioned in the media (New York Times 12 March 2002, p. 14).

E-JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE

  1. Author Surname, initials
  2. Year,  (comma)
  3. ‘Title of article’, (in single quotation marks), (comma)
  4. Journal name (Italics)
  5. Volume, (comma)
  6. The issue, (comma)
  7. Page number/s, (comma)
  8. Viewed day month year, (comma)
  9. Database name. (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Truman R & Phillips d 2013, ‘How does this end?’, New Scientist, vol. 83, no. 2, pp. 24-29, viewed 12 February 2013, Students in Context.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (Fuller 2011, p. 45)
  • (Fuller 2011)

JOURNAL ARTICLE

  1. Author’s surname, initials
  2. Year, (comma)
  3. ‘Title of the article’, (in single quotation marks) (comma)
  4. Title of the journal, (italics) (comma)
  5. Volume, number, month/season, (comma)
  6. The page number of article. (full stop)

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • Byrne, P 2013 ‘All about friends’, The Journal of Relationships, No.12, December,

pp.1 – 13.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • ... was argued (Byrne 2013).

How to write a Harvard reference.

YOU CAN PRINT THIS: Bibliographies for different formats - How to

Maps

Maps

  1. Author if known
  2. Year of publication (comma)
  3. Title of map (italics) (comma)
  4. Series if known (comma)
  5. Publisher (comma)
  6. Place of publication (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • 2012, Germany in the dark ages, Cambridge University, Cambridge.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • … in regard to the map of Germany (World Atlas of Maps, London 2012)

DIGITAL MAPS

BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLE:

  • … as seen in the map of Melbourne, Victoria (Nicholas 2013)

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

Interviews - how do I reference this?

INTERVIEWS

Personal information includes but is not limited to email, fax, interview, conversations, lectures, speeches, telephone conversations and letters. It is not included in a Bibliography, but rather as an in-text citation.

1.     Name of interviewee, first initial and Surname

2.     Year phone call made

3.     pers.comm.(Personal communication) (full stop) (comma)


4.     Day and month of interview. (full stop)

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Mr. D Christian 2013 pers.comm., 5 June
  • It was confirmed that Mrs. Christian was guilty of the crime, as her letter stated (C Jones 2012, pers.comm., 6 June).

Music and Performance

Print

  1. Author/Composer
  2. Year of Publication (comma)
  3. Title of work (italics) (comma)
  4. Format (comma)
  5. Publisher (comma)
  6. Location. (full stop).

BIBLIOGRAPHIC EXAMPLE:

  • Bronson, F 2013, How did it come to this? Sheet music, Hall Inc.,

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (Beethoven 2012)
  • Mozart (2011) said …

Recorded Music

BIBLIOGRAPHIC EXAMPLE:

Swift, T. (2018). Delicate. [digital] (Stockholm, Sweden): MXM Studios.

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

(Swift, 2018)

Performance / Play

Stage works, the director is used as the author.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC EXAMPLE:

  • Refer to the section about Referencing a book with an author

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • Refer to section about citing a book with an author

Performance / Dance

Dance Works, the choreographer is used as the author.

  1. Author
  2. Year of performance, (comma)
  3. Title of performance, (Italics)
  4. Location of theatre where performed
  5. Name of theatre where performed: Company

BIBLIOGRAPHIC EXAMPLE:

  • The Lion King. (2019)

IN-TEXT CITATION EXAMPLE:

  • (The Lion King, 2019)
Sion Learning Resource Centre | Opening Hours | Monday - Thursday 8:00am - 4:30pm Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm